Movie Image

As part of this assignment we were set a task to create two photo-real images that have been digitally manipulated to communicate a message. One of these photo real images had to summarise a movie or one of its main concepts visually. The movie I chose was Romeo + Juliet directed by Baz Luhrmann. I started my assignment with intentions to visually display the thwarted love that Romeo and Juliet share. I also wanted to display some of Romeo and Juliet’s characteristics through my image. I achieved this by dressing my models in certain outfits. In the film Romeo often wears floral shirts, similar to Hawaiian style beach shirts. I had my male model dress in a shirt in similar style.  Juliet’s character is innocent and youthful which is why I had my female model dressed in a simple white shirt and why she is holding a flower (to symbolise innocence). The film showcases quite a few scenes of violence; the character Romeo even shoots a man. This is why I have my male model holding a gun. To present even more of Romeo’s characteristics I have edited tattoos onto his arm. In class we were taught how to blend different images together to make them look as one. We learnt that this can be achieved by using the blend tool as well as changing the opacity and even feathering. I used all of these techniques to create a tattooed arm for my Romeo. I started by hand drawing out the images I thought would look good on Romeo. I then scanned them and imported them into photoshop. After filling in my stencil tattoo drawings in a black colour and using different transform tools to place them in good positions I started blending them onto my models skin. I first lightly went over the tattoos with the blend tool. I then used the opacity tool to make the black colour a little less harsh. And lastly I placed a mask over the tattoos and used the feathering tool to make them blend into the skin a little more. I then added in some shadows to make the models look like they were standing against a wall. A flaw in my final image is that Romeo and Juliet’s shadows are placed in unrealistic positions. I also placed an image of a human heart (originally meant to be a tattoo on Romeo) into the background of my image. It represents the raw and unique love that Romeo and Juliet share. The heart looks like a shadow and which gives my image an ghostly vibe, which relates to the tragic ending of the film.

Leave a Reply

